Making your computer draw things for you

So you might have seen the things people have created with AI and thought "hmm i want to do that too". Understandable, it's pretty fun when you get the hang of it, and with the tech maturing a bit, there's now ample resources that make it "somewhat easy" if you have a good instinctive understanding of making the computer do what you want it to. The moral and legal questions behind AI art are something for another time... personally I find it can be a great tool for artists but that the models thrown in are akin to piracy. Playing with it, knowing a bit of how it works, and getting a grasp of the community behind it might help you form a more informed opinion on that, too, but this post is more an informative dump on how it works (a very general overview) and how to use it.

I'm by no means a pro, so if you're particularly interested, please look for guides beyond this post.

How does it work? (hyper simplified)

In essence, Stable Diffusion is an algorithm that allows you to combine noise and a prompt, and gain an image that visually resembles the prompt as we understand it as output. When you type a prompt and hit Generate, it:

• Generates an image completely filled with random noise,
  • Reads your prompt and collects a bunch of "mini-networks" from the model to use to fulfill it,
  • Combines those mini-networks into one big neural network,
  • Runs the neural network, converting the noise into an image.

The magic exists in the combining of networks. Normal image formats, can't be combined. You can overlap two images, or put them next to eachother, or cross-fade them, but it's impossible to combine the "concepts" of the images, the elements that make them what they are. Stable Diffusion makes this possible, allowing you to combine the concepts behinds images, to create new images. In a way, Stable Diffusion is a new type of collage tool, except instead of combining image data, you're combining concepts.

What do I need?