How to move up from Arduino?
I've got a lot of experience with doing hw things with stuff like Arduinos, but this thing seems like hobby level equipment for me. I am building some "proffesional", embedded stuff like an egg sorter (a machine which sorts eggs by weight class, built for a farmer I know), but making it work on an Arduino feels somewhat.. unproffesional? Arduino is/feels like more of a prototyping platform than a production platform.

I've used mainly ATmega386Ps with Arduino bootloaders and Arduino IDE, I've also used ESP32s and ESP8266, but both via Arduino-like bindings and in Arduino IDE itself, mostly because lazy I was on a strict deadline then and decided not to experiment with stuff like ESP-IDF.
I've also tried to use PlatformIO with VSCode, and while using it was way more comfortable than Arduino IDE, it was problematic, it had issues with not finding libraries, and also messed up the python path in the editor.

I was thinking about trying to use just plain uCs, like ATmegas, STMs (I've ordered one but haven't played with it yet), or ESPs with their respective environments, but I don't know much about their ecosystems. Are there as many libraries as for Arduino-like (Arduino.h) environments? What about IDEs?

Or is using Arduinos a good place to stay in?